CITY OF OTTAWA BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

DAVID MANIGOLD, M.D., CHAIRMAN CLIFFORD ESPEVIK, SECRETARY ROBERT A. ALVARADO, COMMISSIONER

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

Minutes May 9, 2014

Present: Rob Alvarado

Cliff Espevik David Manigold

Mayor Bob Eschbach Fire Chief Jeff Newbury Police Chief Brent Roalson

Kim Czyz

David Manigold called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Moved by Rob Alvarado, second by Cliff Espevik that the minutes of the February 14, 2014 meeting be approved as written. All ayes. Motion passed.

Correspondence

Received an invitation to the Fire Fighter Memorial on May 18, 2014.

Received a copy of letters sent to Kyle Booras and Scot Cruz advising them of promotions within the Ottawa Police Department.

Received a copy of letters sent to Fire Fighter Ryan Tieman, Fire Fighter Brandon Seggebruch and Fire Fighter Jacob Niewinski advising them that they had successfully completed their probationary period.

New Business

Mayor Eschbach advised the Board that a new agreement with the Police Benevolent Labor Committee has been finalized and approved.

Fire Chief Newbury advised the Board that Fire Fighter Jordan McDonald has completed the Fire Fighter Academy and was chosen for the prestigious Clark Rutledge Award.

Discussion regarding the upcoming police and fire entry exams. Cliff will contact C.O.P.S. and F.I.R.E. Testing to get some dates. Testing to be done in late September or October, 2014.

Discussion regarding renewing the Illinois Fire and Police Commissioners Association membership. David Manigold advised the Board that he spoke with a representative at the Illinois Fire and Police Commissioners Association and was advised that the membership fee does provide free legal advice to the Board.

CITY OF OTTAWA BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

DAVID MANIGOLD, M.D., CHAIRMAN CLIFFORD ESPEVIK, SECRETARY ROBERT A. ALVARADO, COMMISSIONER

Moved by Cliff Espevik, second by David Manigold to renew the membership for 2014 with Illinois the Fire and Police Commissioners Association. All ayes. Motion passed.

Moved by Rob Alvarado, second by Cliff Espevik to adjourn the meeting at 4:30 p.m. All ayes. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Kim Czyz

Recording Secretary
Cc: Mayor Eschbach

Chief Jeff Newbury– via e-mail Chief Brent Roalson – via e-mail

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners - via e-mail

Eligibility Register **Expiration Date** Patrol Officer October 18, 2014 Police Sergeant October 5, 2015 Police Captain October 5, 2015 Police Corporal October 5, 2015 Firefighter October 19, 2014 Fire Lieutenant July 6, 2015 Fire Captain July 6, 2015

Z:\FPC-minutes-05-09-2014.doc